With Lal Waterson having effectively left the Watersons, Mike increasingly retreating from live performance and the group experiencing a fluctuating lineup, it seemed almost inevitable that The Watersons would ultimately retire as a touring unit.

From the moment Martin shared a stage with Eliza and Norma in West Virginia in August 1991 it also seemed inevitable that the look and sound of the ‘family band’ would undergo some permanent changes. As Eliza began to establish herself as an artist in her own right a new unit was established which was distinguished from the original Watersons not only in name, but more crucially in terms of instrumentation, which revolved largely around Martin Carthy’s guitar and Eliza’s fiddle – with the later addition of melodeon.

However, as with the Watersons, vocal harmony continues to form an important element of the Waterson:Carthy sound and their recordings have occasionally displayed even more adventurous arrangements with the addition of guest musicians and singers.

Waterson:Carthy (1994)
Common Tongue (1997)
Broken Ground (1999)
A Dark Light (2002)
Fishes & Fine Yellow Sand (2004)
The Definitive Collection (2005)
Holy Heathens and the Old Green Man (2006)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: