2005 : A Yorkshire Christmas

The Watersons and others

01 : The Holly Bears a Crown
02 : While Shepherds Watched Their Flocks
03 : Kit Calvert: The Yorkshire Nativity Story
04 : Stormy Winds
05 : Mabel Race: Carol Singing
06 : Emmanuel
07 : Norman Benson: Christmas Shops
08 : Wassail Song
09 : Kit Calvert: The Blunderbuss Gun
10 : Pace-Egging Song
11 : Here We Come A-Wassailing
12 : Mabel Race: Our Christmas Presents
13 : Lal: Christmas Is Now Drawing Near at Hand
14 : Kit Calvert: Christmas Wages
15 : Sound, Sound Your Instruments of Joy
16 : Norman Benson: On Christmas Eve
17 : Herod and the Cock
18 : Kit Calvert: A New Year Poem
19 : God Bless the Master
20 : Kit Calvert: The Hawes Tragedy
21 : Kit Calvert: The Loss of the Scotch Express
22 : Mabel Race: Father Christmas

First released in the UK 2005 by Witchwood Media WMCD 2029

Mike, Lal & Norma Waterson and Martin Carthy: vocals
with Kit Calvert from Hawes, Mabel Race from Liverton Mines and Michael Benson from Whitby

Recorded in December 1980 at Crathorne Hall, Crathorne, North Yorkshire
Produced by Dave Cousins
Cover water colour by Granville D. Clarke from Silkstone Common, Barnsley
Design and artwork by Rod Green


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: